top of page

The Grief Within, May 21, 2023

Grief affects everyone differently, and there is no specific timeframe for its duration. It can bring intense and unexpected emotions, such as shock and profound sadness. The grieving process typically includes five stages: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and, ultimately, acceptance. Depression is often the most challenging and prolonged stage. The most significant grief one can experience is the inability to prevent someone's death.

Experiencing grief can have physical effects on the body, including changes to the face and a breakdown of collagen, which can speed up aging. Additionally, grief can weaken the immune system, making it easier for infections to take hold. It may also raise blood pressure and the likelihood of blood clots and even affect the heart muscle, resulting in a condition called "broken heart syndrome" that resembles a heart attack.

It's essential to address grief and not let it go untreated. Distress can impact memory, behavior, sleep, and body function. Cognitive behavior therapy is the most effective treatment for those experiencing grief. However, if therapy is not an option, there are ways to manage distress. Start by expressing your feelings, being patient with yourself, engaging in creative and physical activities, forgiving yourself and taking care of yourself, maintaining your routines, and staying connected with people.

Godspeed to you.

Shana Marie

a dead cow skeleton
The Grief Within

January 16, 2021

Weston, WY

Day 52 of 90 emotions

#grief #90daychallenge #90emtions #creativewriting #photography #death #sorrow #distress #cow #decay #ranch #circleoflife #mortality #therapy #selfcare #photooftheday

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page